17 comments on “2011 Cloudy Bay Sauvignon Blanc

  1. The closest I’ve come to finding a white wine that I enjoy is a SB from the Marlborough region. That tells me that it’s probably nothing like what a SB is supposed to taste like. 😉 But I agree with you, we really do need more wine holidays.

    • A lot of different grapes have their own “day”, but it is somewhat difficult to track and predict as different social media outlets declaring their own “grape days”. We recently had Chardonnay Day, there will be Cabernet Sauvignon day on August 30th, Tempranillo Day around the same dates in August, Pinot Noir day and so on. You really should be on Twitter to find out about all the “grape days”.

      Cheers,
      Anatoli

    • There are many different wine celebration days.

      Whine and Cheers alerted us to Languedoc Day on May 3rd.
      I am looking forward to International Albariño Day on August 4, 2012.
      Oregon is having a 3-day International Pinot Noir Celebration (they know how to do it right!) from July 27 to July 29, 2012.

      I find out about most days from fellow wine bloggers.
      Any organization can “sponsor” a day.
      Hmmm…..I’m thinkin’ International NJ Vinoman Day……..
      Cheers!

  2. I always though that Cloudy Bay was one of the better NZ wines – but I never tried that myself. Do you like any other NZ Sauvignon Blanc wines? You mentioned that you like California SB, and they are vastly different in Style. Have you ever tried Kim Crawford SB from NZ? Also interestingly enough I think Chile does SB in almost NZ style, but a bit more balanced – try the Chilean version and see if you will like it more.

    Cheers!
    Anatoli

    • I haven’t tried any other NZ SBs.
      The Cloudy Bay was well-made, I just didn’t like the taste. As you said, I think it was the style I didn’t care for.
      I will find a Chilean and give it a try. Thank you for the suggestion!

  3. I am glad to know that I am not the only one that do not like Cloudy Bay. I visited the North Island of NZ in March and found other less expensive SB that drank much better. The other whites that I look out for in NZ is Gewurztraminer and Riesling and there are quite a lot of good ones. They are also getting better with red varietals such as Merlot, Cab Franc and Melbac blend.

  4. Pingback: Wednesday’s Meritage: Happy Independence Day! « Talk-A-Vino

  5. This wine undergoes malolactic fermentation which most Sav Blancs stay away from, as they want to remain bright and clean. That and a bit of oak adds complexity which many people don’t like in a Sav Blanc. It’s too expensive these days it was a better wine at $15-18. For its price I’ll drink wine from Sancerre.

Please share your thoughts on this wine!

