4 comments on “2008 Avignonesi Vino Nobile di Montepulciano

  1. Are there guidelines on the recommended time to decant a wine? Or do you have your own system?

    • To begin with, while I constantly use the term “decanted” in my posts, what I am actually referring to is aeration (this is a mistake on my part and I really need to phrase it correctly).

      Decanting is when you pour wine from a bottle into a decanter with the hopes of leaving any sediment in the bottle. Aeration is when you pour wine into a decanter in order to allow the wine to “breathe”. While I will decant some older vintages, I mostly use my decanter for aeration.

      Simply pulling the cork from a bottle does not necessarily achieve proper aeration as the neck of the bottle is too small to provide adequate ventilation. A decanter (with a wide bottom) allows a larger surface area of the wine to breathe.

      While I don’t have a formal system, I try to aerate most of the reds I drink. How long depends on how busy the day is. If I have the time, I will give a wine a 3 hour decant. If I have no time, and dinner is ready, it will be a pop-and-pour (PNP).

      Most of the vintages I am aerating are around 3 to 10 years in age. Aerating a much older wine (ie. 20 years+), could potentially harm the wine with over oxidization.

      Personally, I feel aerating a wine helps with the overall experience of most of the wines I am tasting. This is especially so with something I am drinking before its prime (ie. a complex wine that really needs more time to come together, or a young Brunello or Barolo where the tannins are still a bit harsh).

      There are many different opinions on aeration and decanting. Keep in mind this is just my perspective on the topics. I hope this, in part at least, answers your questions.

      They were great questions, btw! Thank you and cheers! 🙂

  2. Thanks for the tip of the hat! I am glad you enjoyed it. I have not had an Avignonesi in a while, but $23 is quite a bargain price. Looking forward to what you think of Poliziano, if you get a chance. I have fond memories of their 2001 Vino Nobile Asinone…

Please share your thoughts on this wine!

